Study No.7 / Nancarrow

6:50 (2007)
video: Tal Rosner, Sophie Clements
music: Conlon Nancarrow (player piano version)

Video piece commissioned by the Barbican for the world premiere of Thomas Ades’ arrangement of ‘Study No.7′ for 2 pianos.
Performed live by Thomas Ades and Rolf Hind

Taking a very pure approach to the sound, this is a graphic representation of the music. Drawing inspiration partly from the hole-punched music roll of the player piano, and the experimental film and graphics of the time, geometric elements are introduced, each ‘set’ representing a motif in the music. As these motifs reappear in the piece, so do their graphic counterparts, each time changing, creating new geometric landscapes.